top of page

What I Want From 2017...


I am most definitely the type of person to make a new years resolution and not even act upon let it alone get to the point where I can break it. But, as 2017 is now in full swing and coming towards the end of the first month, I find myself feeling more energised and motivated to become a better version of myself/more successful person than ever before.

Maybe it's the new found sense of freedom that comes along with leaving education and getting a job and being my own adult person or maybe it's the fact that after 18 years I finally have just a slight idea of what I might actually want to do with my life, something I've taken the initiative to act upon. Either way, I feel like if there is a year to reap the benefits of hard work, 2017 just may be it.

I have done a very typical thing and joined a gym, to feel better about myself, to improve my mindset and to get me out of the house. All of which I am thoroughly enjoying so far (post leg-day pain not so much). However, it made me realise that pushing yourself just to go workout for an hour can easily translate into every day life. Finding that drive within yourself to do something outside your comfort zone to better your life in some way is a scary thing, but it's also reassuring when you know you do have the potential within yourself to do so.

2017 is also the year I move to Berlin for 2 months to intern at an online magazine, writing, editing and helping out with social media. To finally feel like I've settled into the groove of knowing what I want is sparking my creativity before I've even started. I have so many ideas that I'm dying to share and pursue in my time over there and when you have a deep, genuine passion for something. It shows. Even to yourself.

This is the kind of feeling I want for the rest of my life.

So, instead of making half-hearted new years resolutions that don't mean anything to me, I will instead focus on what I can get out of this year and the opportunities laid in front of me and what I need to do to achieve that. I have no end goal, no meter to fill, no calories to count, no diet to follow.

I just have my new found sense of self and an up-rooted desire to do better and to be more. Not knowing where you'll end up is the most exciting part.

I hope you all stick around for the journey...

See you in the next post!

Strawberry Fields, Central Park, New York

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page