top of page

What's In My Holiday Makeup Bag


My trip to New York is so, so close. It seems like everywhere I look there's something about New York going on and it's really not helping my stay calm and cool about it.

The obvious planning has been happening in regards to what sights we want to see and food and shows and clothes... I have been thinking a lot about clothes... (I might even do a blog post on my outfits for New York, what do you think?)

But, makeup plays just as in important part as the outfit and I'm certain on the staples I want to take over.

Base wise I'll be taking my trusted favourites, the Urban Decay Naked Skin Perfecter - it starts of your base perfectly by evening out the skin tone and make things look a little less dull, and if kylie jenner can use it, so can I. For foundations, I'm taking the only 2 I have - simple. But if you're only going to have 2 foundations these are pretty good going, The Nars Sheer Glow gives a nice fresh daily look with some nice dewyness to it which I like even in the winter. And it's got good enough coverage to cover redness and scars and whatever skin issues you've got without looking like a

real heavy duty foundation which would be more suited to a night out.

This is where the Giorgio Armani Luminous Silk Foundation comes in.. more full coverage than Nars it's great for if we'll be delving on any fancy dinners out or go to see a show, just any occasion where I feel I might want to be a bit more 'glam'. It also packs some serious glow and paired with a good highlighter it sacks a serious punch. Plus, both of these foundations have no SPF so they're perfect for your holiday snaps.

For general faceyness I'm blessed to have the Hourglass Ambient Lighting Edit as it's got everything you need for the basics - and boy do I use the heck out of this - the powder is perfect for my skin type and gives a lovely finish and the bronzer is to die for, I never wore bronzer until I got this. You've got 2 blush shades - a coral pink with golden peach that gives the perfect flushed look and a mauve with silver that's perfect paired with more smokey looks and flatter most skin tones. The two other shades can be used as subtle day time highlighters and the darker of the two I sometimes like to put on the top outer part of the cheekbone for extra definition.

I'll also pack my Chanel Le Beige Blush which was limited edition last summer, it's a light pink mixed with warm beige that's more matte than the Hourglass blushes and just offers some diversity if I get bored.

Contour and highlight wise I'll be taking my heavily used Kevyn Aucoin Creamy Duo which has the cream version of the famous sculpting powder which is a little less ashy than the powder but still really natural and blends effortlessly for a natural finish and gives that extra bit of definition when you feel like dolling up a bit more. And my The Balm's Mary-Lou Minizer will be coming along just because it;s so pretty makes you look at your face and just go 'oh my god yes'.

Eyes will be sorted with the Urban Decay Naked 1 & 3 Palette's as they've got shades for every kind of look and I don't need to go into too much detail about them because literally everyone's got at least 1 of them.

Lips..... oh lipsticks what are you doing to me. I'm so into liquid lipsticks right now it hurts, not only me but my bank account too. Woops. I'll be taking the 3 Kat Von D Everlasting Liquid Lipsticks that I have - Lolita, Lolita II and Bown'n'Arrow - which may increase by the time I actually fly out as I have my eye on some of the red shades. I think two nudes and a browny-pink are perfect every day shades and these bad boys last all day and are so comfortable and are literally the easiest lipstick I've ever applied. I'm also throwing in my Estee Lauder Pure Colour Envy lipstick in Volatile, another matte lipstick but a beautiful orange toned red which lasts forever and can be dressed up or down.

Obviously I'm missing out most of the basics that really don't warrant me talking about but this is a basic round-up of the staples that I'll be taking with me and think will be give me the most diversity in looks for daytime, nigh time and days when actually I really can't be bothered. I won't say this line-up won't change but I'm confident it will mostly additions to my streamlined assembly of fave products.

New York here I come...

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page