top of page

The Skincare Edit: Cleansing Chaos


Cleansers, oh cleansers….

Cleansers and I have a rocky relationship and 99% of the ones I’ve used have never really been anything special (that and I get through them like you wouldn't believe), leaving both me and my skin with that kind of ‘meh’ feeling. It wasn’t until I had what can only be described as a fleeting summer fling with the Sunday Riley Ceramic Slip Cleanser that I realised when a cleanser is good it’s really good and makes the world of difference to your skin. But after I finished the bottle (which lasted me a good 6 months) I didn’t have the money to repurchase it and went looking for something else.

That’s when I tried the Liz Earle Hot Cloth Cleanser. The way it was advertised and the hype surrounding it had me really excited to try it and I had my hopes up for something magical. Sadly, I was a bit disappointed. This cleanser kind of broke me out a lot and at first I thought it was just working its magic and bringing all the gunk to the surface of my skin but even after a few weeks it just didn’t stop, there were no noticeable improvements to my skin. If anything, it got worse. That and the fact that it didn’t last very long either. Safe to say I was longing for my Sunday Riley cleanser harder than ever.

But like they say, everything happens for a reason. Which brings me on to the star of this blogpost, ‘The Body Shops Drops of Light Pure Clarifying Foam Wash’. Gosh... this cleanser is just, so nice. Incorporating ingredients such as red algae extract which is used in dreamy products from brands like Tatcha and vitamin c – which Lisa Eldridge did a magnificently in depth post on the benefits it has for your skin – this cleanser has all the right products to help lighten your skin and detoxify at the same time. Now, don’t be worried when I say ‘lighten’ because this isn’t a product that’s going to make you white as a sheet. But, what it does really well is lighten the dark patches of the skin, which for me, are spots scars and noticeable ones at that. I used this product for about a week when I looked in the mirror one morning and realised that ‘holy shit this stuff is actually working’. Not only that but it’s improved the texture of my skin and I’m left with fewer bumps and a much more even and softer feel to my face and using it is a dream too. The foam feels luxurious and rich but leaves my skin feeling clean and tight. And honestly I look radiant. Yeah I said it. My skin looks amazing. Glowy, healthy, even in tone. I never imagined a cleanser from the body shop I picked up because I was panicking I’d be left cleaning my face with a bar of soap would be so damn good.

It’s safe to say that if I don’t find myself weaselling my way back to Sunday Riley after I finish this bottle I will definitely buy it again, it’s a firm contender for the top spot (and like… less than the half the price…).

P.s – if you’d like to read a full review on the Sunday Riley cleanser or want to recommend any other products let me know!!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page