top of page

The Sephora Haul


If you love beauty and you're not lucky enough to live in a country where there's a Sephora on every block, then I think it's safe to say when you stumble upon one it's all too easy to god wild and spend just a little too much...

Being in New York over the New Year period was magical and also very bad for my bank balance (but the sales were incredible so it was kinda worth it).

I ventured into Sephora on 3 seperate occasions and ended up with a nice collection of items that i've been wanting but didn't want to pay the shipping for and items that just felt like a good time to treat myself to. So here is my New York Sephora Haul:

1. Hourglass Veil Mineral Primer - This one was one of those items you see on the way to the till and you're kind of like... screw it let's just get it because it's there. A pricey, rash decision that i'm glad to say I don't regret. I'm not a primer type of person as they seem to sit in my skin and make my foundation clump together as I try to blend it in and they never seem to actually improve anything about my makeup. This one however, is the expection, it manages to hydrate my skin whilst also mattifying at the same time meaning you get a smooth application of product on top that seriously lasts whilst also maintaining and a fresh, laminated and almost juicy feel to the skin. Thanks Hourlgass you did good.

2. Kat Von D Lock It Setting Powder Brush - Brushes aren't exactly the most interesting thing ever but I needed a few more in my collection and this one is the perfect size and shape for setting powders, countour, highlight and blush. It's super soft and cruelty free which is always a bonus so all round a nice brush to have and good for those who want something well rounded and versatile (not to mention the design is just super cool).

3. Anastasia Beverly Hills Liquid Lipdtick in Kathryn - This one was a bit adventurous for me as I tend to steer away from anything that looks like it might be quite pinky. But, it has a nice amount of deeper red/brown tones and is more on the darker muted side that I actually enjoy wearing this and find it quite flattering. The formulation is a little thicker than other liquid lipsticks that i've tried but the application is smooth and non-patchy, amazingly pigmented and it has some serious staying power. Oil-based cleansers a must for this one. I kind of regret not picking up some more shades but thankfully ABH is now being stocked in the UK so they're a lot easier to acquire.

4. Tarte Rainforest of the Sea Aquacealer Concealer - I couldn't leave America without some Tarte products as they're no where to be found in the UK unless you're fine with paying your months wages on shipping. There's been a lot of hype over the new Rainforest of the Sea range and I was running low on concealer so it seemed like the perfect thing to buy. I'm a little on the fence with this product, the consistency and blendability of the product is fantastic and leaves a great finish but it creases quite bad and the applicator is a little hard and uncomfortable to apply the product with. That being said, i've only used it a few times and might end up changing my mind on it after using it for a longer length of time.

5. Nars Radiant Creamy Concealer - I think I might as well talk about the other concealer I bought as I kind of have the same feelings about the both of them. I'm a big fan of the Nars Sheer Glow Foundation so I thought this concealer would just be an instant hit with me. Sadly, it's not. I have to say I prefer the finish and longevity of this concealer and it creases far less than the Tarte one but the applicator ... it's awful. It's even harder than the Tarte concealer and it picks up so little product because there aren't enough fibres surround it, meaning you have to go back into the tube a good few times to get enough product for your face. Again, I need to use it a bit more but it's a 50/50 split for me.

6. Tarte Tartlette 2 In Bloom Palette - You can never have too many eyeshadow palettes especially a neutral eyeshadow palette, my fave. This palette is a range of matte neutral browns and taupes and beiges with a couple of super pretty glitters. It's basically everything you need to create delicate and easy day looks and can easily be paired with other palettes to make a great night time look. The shadows themselves are extremely buttery and pigmented and give great pay off. The packaging is great quality and clicks together so it's perfect for travel, the design on the front is just gorgeous and has the best big mirror inside that you could use to do your whole face if you find yourself without a proper mirror. It doesn't come with a brush however but I can overlook that because it's such a beautiful palette. A 10/10 from me.

7. Sephora Collection Pro Fan Brush #65 - Another day, another brush. If you love highlight then you need a fan brush. End of. Slim, soft and blends the product beautifully across the cheekbones. This + Mary Lou-Minizer = dream team.

8. Anastasia Beverly Hills Stick Foundation in Mink - Contour, contour, contour. It's all anyone talks about anymore but when you have a face shaped like a balloon you're kind of ok with it. I picked this up because i'd made the move to cream contour when I discovered the Kevyn Acouin Cream Duo and discovered how much easier it is and how much more natural it looks. I used to it to death and to the point where I didn't just hit pan but there was nothing left but pan. If heard good things about this ABH product and honestly, it exceeded all expectations I had of it. It's creamy, super blendable and doesn't tug against the skin like most stick foundations i've tried. It has the perfect amount of ashy tones for creating natural shadows on the face and I actually notice the difference it makes to my facial structure. Not to mention the metal detailings are rise gold which is always a nice touch.

9. Anastasia Beverly Hills Modern Renaissance Palette - Last but not least, the creme de la creme of this post. I'm late to the party with this one but better late than never right? The most beautiful range of maroon reds, deep browns and orange toned beiges that create unique, classy and sultry looks paired with an unmatchable pigmentation and blendability makes for one heck of a dreamy palette. Not to mention the stunning pink suede casing AND an actual good quality brush adds to luxe of the product (although the casing is prone to getting a little grubby). I am totally in love with this product and I am going to use it to the death.

So there it is, my round up off all the stuff I bought from Sephora on my travels to New York. Some good, some great, and some I still need to make up my mind on. Be sure to keep your eyes peeled for more NYC-related stuff coming soon!

See you in the next post!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page