top of page

What's In My Carry On


Here we go with another instalment in travel related blog posts! My last one took a look at what was in my holiday makeup bag and today I'm going to show you what I'll be taking with me in my carry on bag as it seemed fitting as we talk more and more about our luggage as the holiday looms ever closer.

I don't really like to take a lot of stuff with me in my carry on and I'm not that kind of person who takes a massive wheelie bag and has half their possessions in it. So, I'll just be taking my Fiorelli Florence Minimal Backpack with me, it's got a middle zip up compartment for the more important stuff like your passport and boarding passes etc. and then two open sections either side. It also has an additional front zip up pocket just big enough to fit some headphone in and a pocket on the back for a book or an ipad. Perfectly convenient and stylish.


Inside I've got what I would consider the essentials, minus the passports etc I don't really need to be writing about those.


First up is my purse, the Ted Baker Matinee Purse. This purse was the first thing I saved up for with my poor Primark wages and had served me well for almost a year. It has all the usual things a purse has but the card slots section pops open instead of some kind of weird strap that you have to take off or a zip around one, I really hate those. As you can imagine I'll be taking this for obvious reasons i.e ID etc but also.. duty free shopping. You can't go to an airport and not buy something from duty free (also the really good restaurants at heathrow - I'm looking at you wagamamas).


Sticking with the Ted Baker theme, I also have my Large Portable Charger which does 4 full chargers for iPhone 5's and 6's and 3 full chargers for the iPhone 6+ and most android phones. It also has two usb ports so you can charge two phones at the same time. Again, convenient AND stylish. The design is beautiful and the casing is that sort of material that's great to tap if you've got false nails.. and also it's really practical if like me, flying makes you a bit anxious and you need music or a video to distract and calm you, meaning your battery is gonna drain pretty damn quick (lets not forget the airplane window shot too). I seriously love this thing and use it all the time when I'm on the go knowing I'll never have to be without a phone incase of emergencys.


The last of the gadgety things I'll be taking is my Nintendo 3DSXL- the special Animal Crossing Happy Home Designer version because I'm obsessed with Animal Crossing and the design is just so pretty. Again this is another thing to keep me entertained and distract me from any iffy feelings I get, and yes its a bit childish but hey, we all have guilty pleasures.


Moving on to skincare... my flight isn't actually until 4pm so I'll be cleansing and toning and all that stuff in the morning but the flight to New York is still a 7+ hour one and with all the recycled air my skin will still need a little pick me up and some TLC.


The Garnier Moisture Bomb Tissue Mask is Britains way of trying to copy Korean skin care and introduce into the mainstream drugstores. Usually I find that the copy's of Korean masks are never as good, the quality of the mask and the essence feels a bit cheap and like it really isn't benefiting my skin at all. However, I gave this one a try a while back because it was 99p and either way I'm a sucker for sheet masks. I have to say, I was impressed. The mask itself was made of a nice thick material and sits well on the face and you don't get too many loose bits or parts that won't stick to the face. The essence leaves your skin feeling fresh and moisturised without being too sticky and I can definitely notice a difference in brightness and firmness after using them. So, this one will be my first step in making sure I don't land in JFK parched and spotty.


The second part to my 2-part-in-flight-skincare is the Origins Overnight Drink UpIntensive Mask which I use on the regular now that it's winter and the central heating and cold air are having a field day with my skin. I especially like to use this in the morning if I know I won't be leaving the house as it has all day to absorb and I wake up the next morning with baby soft skin prepped for any makeup. Therefore, I thought this was the obvious choice for use on a flight after the mask as I can put on a generous amount and know my skin will be hydrated and protected for the whole journey and more. I have a nice travel size I'm saving which I got from House of Fraser in a christmas gift set which comes with a travel exfoliator and ginzing moisturiser and a full size night-a-mins. The perfect set for travellers or fans of Origins. 


(I'm also going to chuck in a lip balm because why not - any lip balm will do I'm not fussy)


To conclude? My carry on bag is going to be light and fuss free, full of only the things I really need on the flight, although I can't promise some extra things won't be making their way in there from duty free... 


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page