top of page

Introductions and New Beginnings...


It’s currently 10:41am, Friday the 24th June. Yesterday I finished my last A-Level exam and tomorrow I turn 18. I’ve kinda got that summer holiday feeling only this summer holiday is retrospectively just the rest of my life… and it’s freaking me out a little bit.

I’ve debated back and forth many a time, weighing up the pros and cons of university and deciding if going was the right choice for me. In society right now, it feels like there’s tremendous pressure to get a degree and force yourself down that road. The upper end of my academic life was filled with powerpoints, presentations and speeches about uni and how to get there but never once was I shown the alternative of choosing something creative and in control that didn’t involve an extra 3 years of lessons and more exams.

My mind-set is that I’m at a point now where I feel like I have a good idea of what I want to do with my life, it may not be the most stable idea but at least it’s something. And it definitely does not involve going to university.

Recently I attended some workshops held by Radio 1 that were centered around creativity and making content in the media/social industry and I came away from that like ‘hey.. I kinda wanna do this’ and that’s what I’m going to do. I want to put myself out there and create content that isn’t doomed to catalogue of exam boards never to be seen by anyone but the musty old people who mark it. No offence. I want to put thing out there for other people to engage with and enjoy and that I can be proud of and think, I’ve given something that is me, my work needs to be a direct reflection of myself.

And so, I guess it starts with this blog. This really bad blog which 5 people a month will read and not really care too much about. Which is cool, I don’t mind, because at least I’m putting my time and effort into content that will hopefully take me elsewhere and improve my real-life skills and experience. I have a lot of things I’m passionate about; photography, editing, fashion etc. etc. etc. and I refuse to let myself be contained to a mono-directional course that will cost me an arm and a leg – thanks David Cameron – when I feel like I have so much potential and drive to offer to a plethora of things that interest me.

It took me a long time to be comfortable with the idea that personally, university is not for me, and this post isn’t a rant about how bad university is because for some it is the right choice. But now I can happily resign to my decision to follow the path that seems a little off the beaten track in terms of the status-quo and whether you read this and think ‘wow what a load of garbage’ and don’t want to come back that’s fine and if you read and it think ‘I like her style I’m intrigued for more’ that is also fine because at the end of the day it’s not about numbers and popularity, it’s about doing what I want. This is what I want.

To round it all off, I guess this is just the introduction to what will be an accumulation of my ideas and creativity and a documentation of my growth. I don’t anticipate it will amount to much but all good things take time and if it’s not worth doing it’s not important, right? And, if you made it here to end, thanks, I appreciate it. I have so much to offer and I guess I’ll see you in the next post!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page