top of page

The Beauty Edit: Current Faves


For me, there is no better feeling when you buy a new beauty product and the first time you use it you just think…. yes. Because let’s face it, no matter how many reviews you read or videos you watch, you’ll never know how something works out for you until you go out and buy it and use it for yourself. It’s a daunting task, yes, but it must be done.

So, I rounded up a few (literally just 3) products that I’m loving right now to share with you all..

1.Urban Decay Naked 3 Palette

I picked this beauty up a couple of weeks ago on a birthday shopping trip with my mum and then used it that night and the night after for those wild birthday parties. At first I didn’t think the pinky tone to the palette would complement me at all but I was swooning so hard I went for it anyway. And luckily to my surprise the colours are amazing and the formulation is buttery and bendable as always. From pale pinks and purples to deeper warmer ones with some gold shimmer thrown in here and there it’s perfect for day time and night time and a good range of skin colours and you can really crate some elegant, beautiful looks from it. However, I feel like this palette is more of a compliment to the 1 & 2 and works its best when joined together with those other neutral shades. But I do not, for one second, regret buying it.

2. Urban Decay Naked Skin Concealer

Yes, yes, I know… more urban decay. If you hadn’t guessed, I bought this at the same time as the naked 3 palette as I’d run out of my YSL Touche Eclat and was running on the last drops of my Rimmel Instant Age Rewind. I’d heard a lot of good things about it and most of my blogging muse’s raved about it so I thought why not?. And, it’s good. It blends well and evenly and is perfect at hiding my dark circles and doesn’t crease as much as I expected from the thin formulation. It doesn’t look cakey on top of foundation either, which is a bonus and sometimes when I’m feeling ultra lazy I pop this on with my Laura Mercier Tinted Moisturiser and it gives just enough coverage to give my skin that pep it needs so I don’t look like a walking corpse. Yet.. part of me still holds the Touche Eclat in my heart as no.1, the Naked Skin Concealer doesn’t give the flawless finish that the Touche Eclat does and I much prefer the formulation that YSL delivers. That being said I’m still very impressed and will definitely be using up the whole tube.

3. Pixi by Petra Fixing Mist

Oh my god. This product. I could talk about it for hours and it’s probably the product I’m enjoying the most right now out of everything I own. I picked this up on a whim in M&S whilst browsing their tiny beauty section because I was having major issues with my makeup not lasting and separating on my skin. I almost felt like I needed to be impressed with this product because I was in despair at this point. Thankfully I was not let down. Not in the slightest. This stuff. Is. Amazing. I give my face a good spritz at the end of my makeup, sometimes before if I really need my face to last and honestly I come home at the end of the day looking just as good as when I left. It locks your makeup down but it also breaks down any heaviness in your foundation and concealer leaving it looking more natural and the green tea and rose water infused within it make you look glowy and healthy and just … damn right juicy (it also makes it smell amazing too). And if that didn’t sell it enough they’re also 100% cruelty free and vegan, if you’re into that.

So! There is my little round up of the stuff I’ve been loving as of late and I’m sure this will only expand and change so you can be rest assured that I will keep you updated.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page